Board of Education

The Board of Education is a body of citizens elected by representatives from local Boards of Education and charged with the legal responsibility of governing the regional educational service agency (RESA).

The RESA Board of Education members are elected biennially on the fist Monday in June by a body composed of one member of the board of each constituent district. The term of office is for six (6) years. The organizational meeting for election of officers is held annually on or before the fourth Monday of July. The officers of the Board are President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer.

Board of Education Members
Steve Norman (1979)
Box 317
Chatham, MI 49816
Home: (906) 439-5610
Vice President
Tony Retaskie (2013)

936 Wilson Street
Marquette, MI 49855
(906) 250-0201

Barbara Hermann (2001)
E9152 West Shore Road
Munising, MI 49862
Home: (906) 828-3043
Julie Shaw (2013)
70 North Crestview Drive       Gwinn, MI 49841                     Home: (906) 346-7514

Virginia Paulson (2002)
517 Croix Street
Negaunee, MI 49866
Home: (906) 475-9641


Shelley Ovink (1997)
32500 Co. Rd. 581
Ishpeming, MI 49849
Home: (906) 486-8020


Paula Saari (1997)
1002 Allouez Way
Marquette, MI 49855
Home: (906) 228-8294

Deborah L. Veiht (2013)
1609 Altamont Street
Marquette, MI 49855      
Work: (906)226-5101 
FAX: (906)-226-5134


Board of Education Meeting Dates


Meetings of the RESA Board are held in Conference Room C of the Administration Building, 321 East Ohio Street, Marquette, MI 49855 on the second Monday of every month. Special meetings may also be called by the Board but must receive at least eighteen (18) hours prior notice. At least four members must be present in order to transact business.
All regular and special meetings are open to the public as prescribed by the Open Meetings Act. Closed sessions may be held by the Board for only those subjects limited by law.